Sacrifice


“The sacrifice which causes sorrow to the doer of the sacrifice is no sacrifice.  Real sacrifice lightens the mind of the doer and gives him a sense of peace and joy.  The Buddha gave up the pleasures of life because they had become painful to him.” ~ Mahatma Ghandi

We often hear words uttered from individuals but miss the point of what the individual is saying.  There are a number of reasons as to why this is so.  It may be that the individual did not express themselves clearly, or perhaps we had a limited understanding of what that person was talking about.  Hell, maybe that person didn’t really understand what it was that they were saying.  Whatever the reasoning, it all comes back to how we choose to interpret that which we are receiving.  I’d go further to say that it would help if we were to define our intentions or ideas from the beginning.  Failure to define what it is that you are trying to say or do, leaves it all open to us as individuals to interpret.  But I digress, because no matter how much an individual tries to define what it is that they are saying or doing, as long as the listener holds onto their own preconceived notions or feelings about the issue, nothing will be solved.

As I rose this morning, the word sacrifice hit me.  Why did it hit me so hard this morning?  Maybe somebody needed to hear this, maybe I needed to examine my own life (my closest friends would ask when am I never examining my own life).  But whatever the reason, I feel compelled to share my thoughts on what I believe it is.  Before I go into it, let’s define what sacrifice means:

From Merriam-Webster dictionary:

Function: noun
Etymology: Middle English, from Anglo-French, from Latin sacrificium, from sacr-, sacer + facere to make — more at do
Date: 13th century

1 : an act of offering to a deity something precious; especially : the killing of a victim on an altar
2 : something offered in sacrifice
3 a : destruction or surrender of something for the sake of something else b : something given up or lost <the sacrifices made by parents>

Much like any word in the English lexicon, we find that people often attach or associate the denotative meaning of a word with any given set of emotions or feelings.  How we use specific words usually has a greater impact than the actual intent of them.

So how would I define sacrifice?  I’d say that one who makes a sacrifice is one who is willing to give up certain things for the greater good.  This is a very selfless act, in my opinion, and I also believe that anything that we enter ourselves into should be done in a manner which is in accordance with the preservation of harmony and balance with our higher self.  Again, this is how I define it.  We have seen the word sacrifice associated with many things going on in the world, in our neighborhoods, in our homes, within our very souls.  I’m a firm believer that there is no such thing as success without a degree of sacrifice.  There is a price to be paid for all that we do.  Now when I speak of price, or cost, I am simply saying that we never get something for nothing.  It doesn’t matter if your mindset is one of abundance, or the lack thereof, certain sacrifices will always have to be made in order to achieve or satisfy our higher order needs or goals.  Furthermore, not every “sacrifice” is going to yield positive goals at first.  It may take years of sacrifice in order for certain things or ideas to make sense or to come to fruition.  Just because you are willing to make a sacrifice in the name of any said cause, it doesn’t make it right or wrong.

So what meaningful sacrifices are you willing to make?  How much time and effort are you willing to expend in order to achieve your goals?  What things are you willing to give up or do without in order to change your lifestyle?  Which “friends” are toxic or a detriment to your existence?  One can have all the faith in the world, but unless you are willing to take certain steps in your life, it will make it that much more difficult to achieve anything in this life.  It is all in how you define what is.  It is all in how you interpret that in which you receive.  It is all in having the ability to let go of certain ideas that are no longer relevant.  Take a second and really think about what it is that you’re doing right now.  Are you living the life that you really want to live?  Are you truly content with your condition?

These are just my thoughts…..  Something that I was feeling at the time.  I’ll still luv ya tomorrow….

What Do You Think?

