Real Talk (Revisted)


The following was a note I originally published on my Facebook page about a year ago.  I posted it at a time when I realized that I needed to change my life and the direction I was heading.  Since then I have made a lot of changes and started turning the corner in many ways.  I still have a long way to go, but I feel as if I’m at least on the right path and this time I refuse to give up and go backwards to my previous comfort zones.  In this life I have learned that your reward is based on the amount of risk you take.  If you sit back and play things safe all the time, you may not wind up with great rewards.  That’s not to say that you won’t get anything at all. I know some folk that work hard and get nothing, I know folk that seemingly don’t work hard at all and get it all.  It’s all a matter of perception and the relevance and significance of the situation.  I always tell people, you never know what a person has had to go through in order to achieve or receive that in which they have.  We all have a different path to walk, but ultimately I feel like we will all end up in the same place….

So without further ado, I would like to share this with you all.  As always, these are just my thoughts and the stuff that I am feeling at the time (just so happens that I continue feel this way and feel a strong conviction to share myself with you all).  And as always, I’ll still luv ya tomorrow…

***Rest In Peace Moniquetta L. McRae***

Sunrise: 27 September 1971

Sunset: 6 September 2009

I love you big sis and will continue to do what you felt I was set out to do and that’s share my vision of a life worth living.  You always believed in me when I didn’t believe in myself.  I only wish I had the opportunity to say goodbye and hold you in my arms one last time, but I will always dance with the memories that I have in my heart and soul….

 

Originally posted on Facebook 9 September 2009 @ 0140:

Real Talk (A Word to My Fam and Friends)

How many times do we hear these catch phrase thrown about? That’s word to everything I love… I keeps it 100… Word is bond… Well let me talk my shit for a minute….

First off I just want to say that I really had an outstanding time this past weekend.  Got to see some old faces and reconnecting.  It did my soul much satisfaction.  Good vibes, good energy, good times.  I honestly wish that I can continue to experience that more often.  This weekend helped put a lot into perspective for me.  I realized that every person that I have come across in my life has had an impact on my being.  Regardless of how big, small or insignificant a role you think you may have played, it has still helped me to reach the level that I am at today.  While I was out enjoying life, one of my very close friends lost her own.  This was an individual that, within the past few years, has become one of the most important people in my life. It has been rather difficult for me the past couple of days, but I know that she would want me to persevere and stay strong.  I understand that she is now in a better place, away from the pain and misfortunes of this world that we exist in.

This weekend helped to bring clarity into my life because it helped me to realize that, no matter how much we may want to think that everything is okay, we are not guaranteed tomorrow. Life is so short, so precious.  We can be gone in a blink of an eye and won’t be able to take any of the material things with us when we go.  At times we take a lot of which we have in our lives for granted, whether it’s certain people, certain situations, certain environments, freedom, time, etc.  We must be thankful for that which we already possess. Be not concerned with what the next person has going on, because you don’t know what that person has had to endure in order to get where they are or to possess the things that they possess. Love yourself both inside and out, cherish the things that you have in your life.  You may not possess all that you “want” but it’s almost certainly true that you do have that you need. It may not be much, but then again, you may not require much or as much as you feel that you are “entitled” to… Okay kind of went on a tangent there, however it is all relevant to the point I am trying to make.

What I want to say to all my friends and family on here is, although I may not see you all much in the physical, although some of us may not have known each other very long, no matter the nature of our associations, I love you. I mean this from the bottom of my heart.  No catch phrases, no brownie points, no shining. I’m no better than any other person living in this world, but I love myself as the God of my understanding loves me and this is what has helped me to make it this far in life. If I can endure the things that I have endured in my life and still come out smiling, hell if people before me were able to endure the things they have had to endure, then there shouldn’t be a problem, in my humble opinion.  Yes, things are tough, it is not an easy landscape to navigate through, but it is possible to navigate through.

So, love yourselves my beautiful people. Love those you have around you.  Take advantage of the opportunities that arise in life and not just take advantage/abuse the things that you do have.  Like I said before, life is short.  Can’t walk around with a chip on your shoulder because you didn’t get it your way.  Accept your position and know your role, but respect your environment.  Try to live in balance with yourself and the world around you.  Exercise patience, accept responsibility for your part in this existence or any situation.  Don’t beat yourself up or throw a pity party, cause quite honestly, you’ll find that you’re going to be the only person at that joint.  Live your life and love yourself today. To thine own self be true, cause once you are true to yourself that’s when you can honestly spit real talk….

Thank you for allowing me to be me and sharing my thoughts with you.  We can make it if choose to do so….


What Do You Think?

