Ready For Change


“Even though we’ve changed and we’re all finding our own place in the world, we all know that when the tears fall or the smile spreads across our face, we’ll come to each other because no matter where this crazy world takes us, nothing will ever change so much to the point where we’re not all still friends.” ~ Anon

So I recently made the decision to deactivate my Facebook account. Oh why did I do that?  There were a few people who felt some kind of way about my actions.  Almost as if I had somehow betrayed or violated the sanctity of our associations. Truth is, I felt the need for a change. People don’t understand just how much of a distraction it was for me. Posting pics, posting statuses, making people laugh, making people think; all these things that I could actually be achieving with my existing sites. But the question is, will people still tune in? Will people still support the things that I do?

Yes, I am ready for a change. It’s almost as if people were expecting me to always be a certain way or to always be available. There were a few people who doubted my ability to let go of that account (and trust me, it was very hard that first day). Will I return to Facebook? Eventually, but right now my focus is me. Doing the things that I said I would do. The character of a person is not solely based on the words that they speak, but in the way they carry out those words. I don’t want to be that person that can talk a good game but never executes anything (one of my own shortcomings). It’s time that I live up to my potential and be a living example.

So with that being said, I hope that you all continue to walk with me, explore the inner workings of the mind and work towards a greater understanding of self. I’m no longer afraid of change because it is an inevitability. It is something that we must, at some point, accept or institute. Cannot continue to do the same things over and over and expect for a different result, that’s insane. We should not allow ourselves to get too comfortable with the way things are; become complacent and risk missing out on some great opportunities in life. No, we should welcome change, give it a huge hug, become intimate with it.

I’ll still luv ya tomorrow……

One comment

  1. Wilhelmina Lundy

    Okay jimmy, I must say I enjoyed this piece because I believe that what does not change is dead. change is growth. I to was distracted by facebook but decided to use it as my advantage be it I’m a writter I study people. Good Luck u have a follower in me. when u open ur mouth u say alot feeding minds. W.W.L

What Do You Think?

