Try A Little Tenderness


“Do not be afraid of showing your affection. Be warm and tender, thoughtful and affectionate. Men are more helped by sympathy, than by service; love is more than money, and a kind word will give more pleasure than a present.”

~ John Lubbock

So I’m laying in the bed this morning trying to think about what to write. Usually, a general topic will cross my brain before I go to sleep and when I wake up in the morning, I tap away at the keyboard and allow my mind to empty out.  This morning, I actually struggled with coming up with something to post. It wasn’t until I started listening to Otis Redding that it all made sense.

First off, it’s hard to believe that he died at age 26 (crazy how some of the most influential people in the history of mankind have met an untimely demise or what we perceive to be untimely). That begs the question, why do we wait so long to honor, cherish and celebrate the lives of those that we touched by?

We definitely take too much for granted on this plane. We assume things will be available to us whenever we reach out, but this is not so. We assume that tomorrow we will have an opportunity to make it all right, but tomorrow may never come. We hold onto so much negative emotion and energy, people project so much hate and angst onto others when all we should do is try a little tenderness. Speak kindness into the universe and eventually the world around you will turn around. But it just doesn’t end with using kind words, performing tender acts is very critical to many woes that we face.

[But what if I do speak kind words and perform kind acts and I always seem to get the short end of the stick?]

Sounds like a personal problem to me….  Nah, I’m just kidding. Not every person is susceptible to, or open to receiving such treatment. Maybe, in the past, there were times that people were kind to them but it was followed up by some thing rather disappointing. Whatever the reasoning, whatever the situation, we should not allow ourselves to be deterred from showing our affections or telling someone how we feel.

You shouldn’t stop being you just because your actions or your words and feelings aren’t being reciprocated. Try not to become so emotionally tied to your thoughts. The challenge lies in being able to distinguish how we feel about things from how what we think about them. Like I can have feelings all day long about a particular situation, but once I stop to think about it, I may realize that how I’m feeling may not necessarily be what’s actually going on or may not be something I should carry out.

But be careful not to allow your thoughts hinder you from making things happen or carrying out certain actions either.  It’s almost like a catch-22, where you’re damned if you and damned if you don’t, but if you do more positive things in life, more positive things will happen.

So on this day, try a little tenderness. Choose love rather than hate; smile rather than frown; laugh rather than cry.  Balance your existence in this world. Like my old soldier recently told me, don’t take life so seriously, you not going to make it out alive anyway.

I’ll still luv ya tomorrow…..

What Do You Think?

