Letting It All Go


There are things that we never want to let go of, people we never want to leave behind. But keep in mind that letting go isn’t the end of the world, it’s the beginning of a new life.

For me, this is usually the time of year that I begin a long period of reflection.  Where I try to take some time and recognize where I am in life and where I am trying to be.  I also evaluate my mental, spiritual and physical health, as well as the health of many of my personal relationships and professional goals; I guess you can say I am doing my year-end inventory.  Got to check the numbers and see what areas have been positive and which areas need improvement.  Even the areas that we perceive as being great are subject to some improvement.  I feel like I can always make things run much more efficiently.  Some people say just leave things as they are; most times that’s exactly what we should do.  However, there comes a time when you got to know when to hold them and know when to fold them.

As I look back on this past year, I’ve gone through some incredible changes; changed careers, met some interesting people, rekindled relationships, ended associations.  There were times this year I felt so lost, lonely, confused; found myself on top of the world, feeling as if nothing could stop me.  It’s been a roller coaster, lots of ups and downs, twists, changes, thrills and chills.  But I realize, that’s all life is; life is a ride.  We don’t have to stay on it if we don’t want to, we can always get off. People tend to think that is the characteristic of a strong person; having the ability to hold onto certain things and endure.  I am starting to realize that this is not the case.

When we hold onto certain things and certain people, we allow them to have power and dominion over us.  We place so much of ourselves into others while neglecting our own needs, basic things at that.  Not saying that there is anything wrong with helping others, cause I’m the first one to reach my hand out, prop up my shoulder or open my ears to anyone.  But there comes a time when the burden becomes too much for one to bear.  When we have reached our breaking point.  A lot of people choose to reach out to God and rely on Him to get us through things and He will for the most part. But in the meantime, what are you doing?  You still sitting there worrying over those issues you supposedly left on the altar, you still worried about not having money, still worried about this person, that person.  JUST LET IT GO….

The last couple posts I’ve been talking about stress and having gratitude in this life.  I may seem like a broken record at times, but you know what, I will continue to say the same thing over and over in as many ways that I can, because there may be someone out there that needs to hear it.  Hell, this just might be a better way for me to communicate these things to myself.  So just let it go.  Not happy with the job that you have?  LET IT GO, find a new one.  Not happy in the relationship that you in? Try to figure out what went wrong or if there is anything that you can do to fix it, if that don’t work, LET IT GO.  People not supportive of the path that you trying to take, especially if it’s something that is going to better yourself, LET EM GO.  If there are negative and unhappy people in your life, there’s a good chance that they will make you negative and unhappy right along with them.  Misery needs company, you don’t.

We feel like we owe things to certain people and all that, but you really don’t owe anybody anything.  You owe it yourself to make the right decisions in life.  You owe it to yourself to live a healthy life.  Cause you can spend all the time in the world trying to help out certain people and be there for others, but once they get on top, they forget about you.  When the tables turn folk are nowhere to be found.  But let me also say this, just because they not available when YOU need or want for them to be, it doesn’t mean they turned their back.  It may just mean that it’s time for you to look in rather than out to get things done.

So, learn to let go of things.  Don’t be afraid to make changes, don’t be scared to say no and don’t feel some kind of way because someone else tells you no.  Don’t hold onto the past, quit looking back because you will never see where you going.  You can’t carry on the energy and woes of the world.  Someone already died in order for you to live, so just live.  Lastly, I heard something on one of Tyler Perry’s latest plays that really hit me.  He was talking about how God is like our navigation system.  We send up a prayer asking for a destination in life.  God knows where we are, He knows our starting point and he has also mapped out a path for us to get there.  All we got to do is walk and have faith that we are moving in the right direction.  Now this path does not take into account the many obstacles that may arise.  The dog crossing the street, the other folk on the road trying to get to their own destinations.  It only tells us where we starting and where it ends.  It’s up to you to stay on track and make it to the end.  With that said, I love you all.  Might not be how it was, but it is what it is.  Be blessed, be humble and to thine own self be true.

I’ll still luv ya tomorrow……

4 comments

  1. Pingback: Forgiveness: The Main Element of True Happiness « Daily Bone
    • bonebody

      Thank you very much for stopping by. If I can inspire just one person with my words, then I feel like I have done my job. Hopefully you’ll stop by again sometime and continue to be inspired. Be blessed….

What Do You Think?

