What About The Children….


“Whatever they grow up to be, they are still our children, and the one most important of all the things we can give to them is unconditional love.  Not a love that depends on anything at all except that they are our children.”

~ Rosaleen Dickson

Been quite the busy one as of late.  Working on a few projects for work, trying to prepare myself to go back to school next term, got engaged; but the most important thing that I have done was spend time with my sons.  You ever sit back and watch how children interact?  That wonder in their eyes, that endless energy, the innocence.  As much as some folk don’t want to admit it, but kids have it together.  They don’t know any bounds, they don’t see anything as being wrong, they forgive and forget rather easily.  They don’t see division and anger and manipulation; they see the world unadulterated, pure in a sense.  I love to sit back and watch how they move, exploring different feelings and emotions.  Testing their own abilities and limits.  They may not always do the things we tell them to do or when they actually do the things we tell them, it’s not always the way we want for them to do it; not quite how we envisioned, but you know what, it doesn’t really matter.  They at least made the effort, so there is no harm done.

Where am I going with this?  It’s past 0200 in the morning, doing their laundry so they can have some clean clothes in the morning.  The only thing I can think about is what can I do to make their lives better.  Then it dawned on me, I just need to love them.  No matter how much they frustrate me, no matter how much of a mess they make, they need my undying love.  That’s all they care about.  I can buy them all the material possessions in the world, but it can never take the place of a good hug, a kiss on the cheek, spending a little quality time with them.  They just want to know that Daddy cares and that despite anything else that is going on that Daddy still loves them.

Somewhere down the line, I feel as if some folk are not loving their children enough; almost as if they have forgotten what it was like to be a child.  Laughing, smiling, having fun.  Granted, not everybody had a positive upbringing, but that’s no excuse to deny that child the opportunity to experience these things.  I look around in the world today and it’s almost like nobody is paying attention to what these kids are really doing.  At one point in time, I felt as if I may have neglected my own children’s needs.  I felt terrible, but it wasn’t the end of the world.  Once I recognized where I fell short, I began to make moves to improve the quality of the relationship that I have with them.  Now I sit them more often and ask them questions, I use a more relaxed tone, I smile.  I do these things because they felt like any time I spoke to them it was because they were in trouble.  I don’t want them to fear me (well, not really) but I do want them to respect me.

Anyway, I’m beginning to ramble now.  Let me close this out by saying, take care of these children out here.  Show them love and not hate; show them positive images and not negative ones; talk to them, don’t yell at them.  Be patient, kind and compassionate towards our little people.  Remember, we were there at one point.  We didn’t always do the right thing, we made our mistakes.  We have to allow our children the opportunity to do their own growing and exploring.  Allow them to expand their mental being and not be confined to any one idea.  To a child the possibilities are endless, let’s not limit them too much.  Nurture their ideas, allow them to develop themselves.  Above all, continue to love them.  As I mentioned before, no material possession in this world can mean more to that child than you just telling them that you love them and care about them, unequivocally with no conditions…..

I’ll still luv ya tomorrow….

One comment

What Do You Think?

