Absence, Space, Sabbatical??? Nah, I Just Didn’t Want To Be Bothered


No fancy quote to start everything out.  No long winded explanations for why I have been off the radar.  Simply put: I just felt like being to myself.  No Facebooking, a little bit of Tweeting here and there, caught up on some reading, got some thinking done.  Same old, same old just a different pair of drawers and positioning of the Earth in its rotation around the Sun.  However, therein lies a part of the issue [I had more than enough pairs of clean drawers by the way]. To me, it just seems like things never really change.  By that I mean the behavior of people, the things people say, the things people do, the negativity, the drama….

It gets rather annoying after a while.  What’s sad is when people know the probable outcome of their actions, but yet they still go out and do the things that they do as if something is going to be different.  Somebody, dead or alive, was quoted as saying “Insanity is doing the same thing over and over again but expecting different results”. Don’t know who actually said it, doesn’t even matter who said it (it has been attributed to Einstein, but there are no verifiable sources that have proven the validity of that claim).  All I know is that I totally agree with that quote.  But for all intents and purposes let’s look at the other side of it.  Let’s just say that this is a bogus quote, that doing the same thing over and over again just means that the person really really wants whatever it is that they are seeking and is not willing to give up on it until they get it.  Okay, I can understand having certain desires or wanting to attain certain goals.  There’s nothing wrong with wanting.  I think it was my mother or my grandmother (R.I.P. Bessie) that once told me and my brothers when we were younger that “wanting don’t hurt nobody”.  As I got older and started experience different things in life: love, puberty, alcohol, sex, infatuation, heartbreak, etc, I realized that wanting does hurt.  It ends up being the person that wants too much that hurts the most.

Too much of anything can be disastrous.  I’m not saying that you shouldn’t have desires or have a want for certain things in life.  Do you.  Live your life.  Have fun.  All I’m saying is be mindful of what it is that you are doing.  You don’t have to feel guilty about the things that you do; things that you say; things that you feel.  You don’t have to explain yourself to anybody to be quite honest.  But just understand that the world around you will respond in kind.  You don’t have to agree with it, you don’t have to care what people have to say, but you do have to live with any decisions you make.  You must recognize what it is that you are doing and take responsibility for your own actions (sounding like a broken record).  All I’m saying is take a little time out and pay attention to what you say and what you do.  You may find that some of the things that you may want aren’t necessarily things that you need.  You may want for a particular situation to work out, but at what cost?  What price or what sacrifice or what compromise are you willing to make in order to gain what it is that you seek?

For those that feel like they already live a life of abundance and feel complete, hey, my hats off to you.  Keep doing what it is that you do that works for you.  Obviously I’m not talking you because you already know it all (says the man that used to always think that he knew it all). Truth be told, I don’t know nothing.  I could be totally wrong about everything that I am saying right now and I am perfectly fine with it.  I can live with that.  It’s taken me a while to come around to that way of thinking.  I had to break the cycle and what a vicious cycle it was.  Had to let some people go, had to remove myself from certain environments, had to do what I had to do.  As I said, in the end, I am the one that has to live with it all, good, bad or indifferent.  So rather than sit back and complain about your situation, or rant about how this one said this, that and the third, or how men/women ain’t sh*t, try removing yourself those situations, people or environments.  If you still find yourself in a bad situation, or around negative people or whatever, maybe it’s not the world around you that needs to change up after all…..

I’ll still luv ya tomorrow…..

One comment

What Do You Think?

