A Tribute To Mother’s of the World


“A mother is the truest friend we have, when trials heavy and sudden, fall upon us; when adversity takes the place of prosperity; when friends who rejoice with us in our sunshine desert us; when trouble thickens around us, still will she cling to us, and endeavor by her kind precepts and counsels to dissipate the clouds of darkness, and cause peace to return to our hearts.” ~ Washington Irving

There isn’t a day that goes by without me thinking about how blessed I am in life.  These blessings would have not been possible without the woman whose womb I spent nine months developing from zygote to embryo to fetus.  This same woman not only sacrificed her body to ensure that I was born, but she also sacrificed her livelihood, and possibly her own sanity at times, to make sure I could live as full a life as I possibly could; to live a life of my own.  Provider, nurturer, and overall supporter of anything that I wanted to do in life; my mother gave me, or us, all that she knew to give; all that she humanly and consciously possessed.  I just want to tell her, despite how she may feel, despite any moments that she may have felt that she could have given more or gone in a different direction, that she did an outstanding job raising her boys into men.  I wouldn’t change one single aspect of my childhood away for anything in this world.  If there were anything that I could change of my childhood, it would be to show more appreciation for the little things that she did to make us happy.  No words in my lexicon could truly describe the amount of love, adoration and respect that I have for my mother.  There is no amount of money or material possession that could ever equal the value of what she has given us (although I know she wouldn’t mind receiving a royalty check in the mail every now and again).  And I say us, myself and my two older brothers, speaking for them, for I could only hope they don’t mind me doing so; I am quite certain they feel as strongly and passionately about her as I do.  I just want to say thank you for giving me life and for the honor of being able to call you my mother.  I love you….

“No gift to your mother can ever equal her gift to you – life”

As I pay tribute to my own mother, I would be remiss if I didn’t say thank you the multitude of other women out there; women who have sacrificed their own bodies and livelihoods to ensure that their children made it into this world.  We should always honor and respect these life bearers, for without them we would not exist.  That’s why it saddens me at times to see so many women being mistreated, misrepresented and making misguided decisions.  We have to remember that the little girls we see running around, our sisters that may annoys us, our nieces, our daughters, etc, may one day bring another life into this world.  People should never forget that their mother was once a little girl as well who had visions of being a princess and marrying a prince.  So let’s think about that as we pay tribute to those mother’s out there today.  Although Mother’s Day is something that has been commercialized and celebrated as just one day on the second Sunday of May; something that started out as a way of reuniting the families of that were separated by the Civil War and also to pay tribute to those mother’s who have lost children in the battles that man has waged; we should continue to pay homage to these great life bearers who continue to lose children to the ongoing battle of what we call life.

Let’s think about how we treat women from this day forward.  Don’t let Mother’s Day be something that you acknowledge only once a year.  This is a day that you should celebrate and cherish every day.  I remember one day I was so emotionally compelled to call my mother to tell her how much I loved her and it was just a regular Thursday.  I mean she did think something was wrong, that I was about to die or something, but after I explained to her what prompted the call I could hear the gratitude in her voice; how much she appreciated being acknowledged and loved simply for being who she was.  So I say to all those who read my blogs, go forth and show love to these very special women.  Whether they are with child or not, whether you dislike their ways, whether they are friend or foe, just show a little tenderness, a bit of kindness.  Encourage them to do better not worse.  Because as I said before, the women that we call mothers today were once the teenagers that didn’t know what the world was about; the ones that made their own styles and had their own views of how things should be; the ones who only wanted to be accepted and respected.

So, let it be known how much you care.  A phone call, a greeting card, a hug, a smile, cleaning up the house, putting your clothes in the hamper; just some show of appreciation.  It’s the little things that go a long way….  Happy Mother’s Day…

I’ll still luv ya tomorrow…..

Honor your father and mother. Then you will live a long, full life in the land the LORD your God will give you. ~ Exodus 20:12

Thy Lord hath decreed that ye worship none but Him, and that ye be kind to parents. Whether one or both of them attain old age in thy life, say not to them a word of contempt, nor repel them, but address them in terms of honor. And out of kindness, lower to them the wing of humility, and say: ‘My Lord! bestow on them Thy Mercy even as they cherished me in childhood'” ~ Quran 17:23-24

One comment

  1. Viola Gadson-Brown

    I am humbled by your words of love and respect for women. My observation of how you treat women makes me grateful to God that you paid attention to the struggles that I endured. I printed this blog to show others that don’t have access to the web. Thank you son. I love you and your brothers very much.

What Do You Think?

