Been A Minute


It’s been a little while since I posted my last blog. Just been really focused on my career and getting my life in order. It hasn’t been an easy process, but I don’t think I’d want it any other way. I am really learning to humble myself these days and recognize that I don’t have all the answers and that it’s okay to make mistakes. Moreover, when we do make mistakes, it’s not only important to recognize them but to also learn from them so that the behavior or activity is not repeated again.

I’d like to say thank you to the people that continue to support my blog. I’m no expert, definitely not a professional, but I’d like to think that my thoughts and words somehow resonate with you, the reader and may serve as some sort of inspiration or at the very least gives you something to think about. Whether you agree or disagree with anything that I post, these are just my thoughts and should in no way be taken as the gospel. I am but a mere human being.

Lastly, I’d like to dedicate this blog to my dear friend who passed away this week in 2009. If not for her, I probably wouldn’t have started this blog at all. But I’m going to continue to do this, not just for her, not just for my kids, not just for my fiancee, but mainly it’s a way for me to escape; to share myself with the world. I don’t need Twitter, Facebook, Google+, MySpace (they still have that site running huh?) those have proven to be mere distractions for me. They may work for other people, but that’s just something that I don’t need right now.

So without further ado, I’d like to share my thoughts……

***Rest In Peace Moniquetta L. McRae***

Sunrise: 27 September 1971

Sunset: 6 September 2009

“A proud man is always looking down on things and people; and, of course, as long as you’re looking down, you can’t see something that’s above you.”

~ C.S. Lewis

One of the most important things that I have learned so far in my life is that pride is a wicked bitch. It can be your best friend or your worst enemy (all relative to your own perspective of course). One of my first blogs dealt with the issue of pride and how it can be a divisive factor in a relationship. But this is not to say that having pride is totally useless. There are instances in life where one should be proud or be prideful. Other times it would best serve the individual to let all pride go.

I can tell you the moments in my life where I have been very proud: graduating high school, joining the military, the birth of my children, attending college, traveling the world. I’m proud of who I am today; the many things that I have accomplished but I know there’s much more work to be done. See, those are things to be proud of; accomplishment of goals, doing something positive in life. There’s nothing wrong with feeling yourself a little bit, having a little self-esteem and confidence about yourself, but some people take it to another level.

It’s one thing to have pride but when a person has an overly inflated image or perception of themselves and it can prove to be more harmful than helpful. Another thing is that people are prideful about some of the wrong s***. Dudes bragging about having multiple partners or babies with multiple women, being in and out of the penitentiary, dealing drugs and aiding in the destruction of another persons life. Those are not things to be proud of. Even saying something like “at least I’ve never been to jail” is not something to be proud of, that’s something that you shouldn’t be doing any damn way.

Like I can’t be proud of stuff that I’m supposed to be doing: being a father to my children, maintaining a job, being an adult about things. I guess some people have low expectations or their standards are so low that doing anything is good thing to them. People often allow their pride to get in the way of accomplishing things or recognizing the fallacies of their thinking process. At some point you have to be willing to look outside of yourself and see what’s going on in the world around you.

I’m kind of just echoing thoughts that I have shared before. It’s just that people kill me with how they carry themselves. I’m sure people have their own reservations about the things that I say or how I conduct my business, but I honestly could care less. If people want to know what’s going on with me all they have to do is ask. My number hasn’t changed in the past couple of years. The only thing that has changed is the fact that I don’t have the time to socialize like I once did. I’ve re-prioritized things in my life. I have a new focus and new goals and I can’t achieve them by doing the same old s***.

So before you allow pride to blindly lead you down the wrong path, you might want to check yourself, check your sources and not put too much trust into third party information. Don’t let your pride convince you that what you are doing or what you’re thinking is the truth. Have pride and some dignity in your personal appearance and how you carry yourself. Don’t run with people that don’t have your best interests in mind; more importantly define what your interests truly are and don’t go around trying to be like everybody else. Be yourself and nobody else. Like my mother told me one time, you can’t be like the Jones’ if your name is Smith.

I’ll still luv ya tomorrow……

What Do You Think?

