It’ll All Make Sense… One Day…


 I am learning to understand rather than immediately judge or to be judged. I cannot blindly follow the crowd and accept their approach. I will not allow myself to indulge in the usual manipulating game of role creation. Fortunately for me, my self-knowledge has transcended that and I have come to understand that life is best to be lived and not to be conceptualized. I am happy because I am growing daily and I am honestly not knowing where the limit lies. To be certain, every day there can be a revelation or a new discovery. I treasure the memory of the past misfortunes. It has added more to my bank of fortitude. ~ Bruce Lee

I have endured a lot over the past 31 years. I’ve been through heartbreaks, disappointments, setbacks, faced many adversities but you know what? I survived all that life has thrown at me thus far. No matter how big the issue, I’ve found a way to overcome. I look at my past mistakes, not in regret, but with much appreciation because all that I have been through has made me the man that I am today.

I am continually humbled by the things that occur in my life. Just when I think I have reached a point of understanding what my life is about, here enters another lesson to be learned. But rather than looking at these situations as obstacles, I now view them as opportunities; a way for me to become a little stronger, a little more aware.

One of the most important things that I have learned is that you can’t please everybody, not even yourself. Truth be told, not all of us really knows exactly what it is that we want. We have some idea of the things that we desire, we may have a general passion to do certain things, but I truly believe we cannot say, with any specificity, what we want; but this is just my opinion.

I can say that I want to be happy, that I want peace, that I want to be loved, etc. But what does it mean to be happy? What does it mean to be at peace? What does it mean to be loved? And more importantly, how do I reach those desired states? I’m not saying that a person shouldn’t strive to attain these states.

I’m not saying there is anything wrong with saying that you want to be happy, or that you want to be loved, etc.; you can want for anything in this world but the focus should be on why do I want these things and then how is it that I am going to attain them.

Everybody’s level or measure of things in this world is different. What makes me happy may not make someone else happy. How I see the world or how things are going may not be how you see things happening. You may not necessarily agree with the way someone else is handling their affairs but did you stop to think about what their situation was? Maybe this is the way they need to process things.

We all have our own lives to live. Some of us have chosen to merge paths through marriages, civil unions, committed relationships, etc. but we still have to remember that we are individuals. I can’t be who someone else wants me to be, the moment I do that, I am no longer me. As an individual, we can only do what we can do. While others may see the potential and the abilities within us, if we cannot see these things for ourselves then, quite frankly, it’ll never happen.

I understand the whole thing about motivation and trying to bring out the best in people, but sometimes what we may doing or saying, in the name of motivating a person could actually be having a negative effect on them. Sometimes we have to just let a person do their thing and figure things out on their own. Or maybe they already have things figured out and we just have to be patient to see their works come to fruition. Sometimes we have to take a step back and look at things for what they are before we proceed.

In the end, after the pain comes pleasure; after the storm comes sunlight; after death comes life. We may not be privy to the intimate or finite details of certain things as they occur but rest assured that it will all make sense eventually.

I’ll still luv ya tomorrow….

One comment

What Do You Think?

