Priorities


If you make the unconditional commitment to reach your most important goals, if the strength of your decision is sufficient, you will find the way and the power to achieve your goals. – Robert Conklin

It can be rather frustrating when we set goals for ourselves but fail to achieve them. I know it has been for me. Time and time again I tell myself that I’m going to do this or it’s about time I take care of that. I’m a chronic procrastinator. There, I said it.

But that doesn’t mean that I have to remain in that state. I have yet to identify the source of my procrastination. For as long as I can remember, I’ve been putting things off; always coming up with some excuse as to why I failed to make something happen. The problem is me. Whenever things don’t go the way that I envision them, it’s my own fault. So not only am I a great procrastinator, I’m also a great deflector.

Rather than beat myself up about it though—which I tend to do regularly—I need to learn how to focus better; organize and prioritize things but at the same time not be too rigid. I have to allow myself to be a little more flexible in the event that things don’t work out as I envisioned. Sometimes I get so caught up in certain things that I fail to pay attention to what really matters; or when things don’t go according to plan, I just drop the ball.

Prioritize things. That’s what I’ve been failing to do all this time; that’s why things seem to go awry. It is important for a person to define what’s most important for them in life. Once you define what’s most important then you have to make a commitment to see these things through. This means that you have to treat things with high importance or high priority with a sense of urgency. All other things shouldn’t matter at that point. That’s not to say that you should ignore everything else, it just means that you are not as focused on things that are not as important or not very high in priority.

I’ll be revisiting this thought in the coming weeks and months, as I begin to redefine what’s most important in my life and get things back on track. Before I close I just want to say thank you to those who have been supportive of the things that I have been doing; the individuals who have subscribed to the blog, commented and shared these thoughts with others. There’s no better feeling in the world, especially for a writer, than to get feedback; to know that what they are doing inspires others.

As I’ve said once before, I love to share my thoughts and feelings. I love to write, it’s my therapy, it’s how I stay connected with the world. I’m not here to tell anybody how to think or to change anybody’s opinion on matters. I just write what’s on my mind and in my heart. These are just my thoughts, right or wrong, it’s just how I’m feeling at the time.

I’ll still luv ya tommorow….

2 comments

  1. Ron

    Great Post Jimmy!

    Quick Thoughts I had from reading your post:

    I use to have (still do at times) the same procrastination problems. But I read a great book by Brian Tracy called “Eat that Frog”. I ran across a powerful quote while reading this book which was “Things which matter the most must never be at the mercy of those which do not”. That one quote has really helped me a lot with procrastination. Also I tell people my goals all the time, so they can check on me from time to time and since I know they will it encourages me to put of procrastinating and to properly execute my plan of reaching that goal..

    Also I had to take the approach of a minimalist when setting goals. Not saying my goals can’t be huge, but its just I will only focus on that one goal. Which helps me knock out other smaller task, because those task will hinder me from focusing fully on my one Huge goal. So every day I find myself saying “What is that if I don’t do today, this week, month, year that if not achieve would hurt me the most!”

  2. VGB

    Hey,
    My sentiments exactly. I think some of us have a doomsday mentality, Murphy’s Law gene so to speak. We tend to think that we are destined to just survive and not LIVE without worry. The Bible is a book of great stories of people with faith that despite circumstances are able to rise above their adversities because their faith keeps them grounded and hope keeps them going. the bottom line for some of us I think is to let go and let Trust GOD, He makes no mistakes.

What Do You Think?

