Five Reasons Why I Deleted My Facebook Account


I’d rather have one friend who gives a damn about me than to have 1000 people who claim to care but really don’t.

So I’m coming up on the one year anniversary of the deletion of my personal Facebook account. I could have easily been referred to as an addict, attention whore, narcissist when it came to Facebooking. I was always on the damn thing. Before work, during lunch, after work, driving in traffic, using the bathroom; as long as I had an internet connection, I was on it.

But there came a time when I had to part ways with my guilty pleasure; a time when I had to make a decision about where I wanted my life to be; who I wanted to share things with, etc. At the peak of my Facebook days, I was sitting somewhere around 400 – 500 “friends” (I use that term loosely and will explain what I meant by that later). Many of those individuals I knew personally, whether they were classmates from grade school, people that lived around the way, people I served in the Army with or just random people who I crossed paths with and had some type of connection with.

All in all, my years of Facebooking didn’t really amount to much. It became a time consuming activity and a place where nonsense prevailed. But there were really five key reasons why I deleted my Facebook account:

Reason #5 – I Realized I Had More Important Things To Do….

I mentioned previously that Facebook became rather time consuming. Sometimes I would hop on Facebook just to post a quick status update, next thing I know it’s 1AM, I haven’t eaten, I haven’t washed my a**, I haven’t done anything productive. That started to bother me a little.

Sure, I was having fun, engaging in conversations, posting YouTube videos and all that, but when you begin neglecting your personal responsibilities, when updating your status becomes more important than updating your hygiene, then you might want to consider changing things up a little.

The other thing, who really cared about the happenings of my life? I didn’t care too much for the constant updates that people posted “going to the store, brb” or “my life is the greatest” or “my life sucks”. I had a few people on my friends list who liked to post every little thing going on, who they didn’t like (subliminally most of the time), how s****y their day was. I mean really? It’s one thing to post funny, entertaining and thought provoking statuses but when you are being mostly negative things, you might want to seek professional help rather than telling the world of Facebook about it all, which brings me to reason #4…

Reason #4 – It Stopped Being Fun and Constructive A Long Time Ago….

Not for nothing, but had it not been for Facebook I would not have met my wife or at least we wouldn’t have crossed paths. It’s funny because we grew up knowing some of the same people, going to the same school but neither one of us can recall ever speaking to or running into one another in those days. But thanks to Facebook and my witty sense of humor, among other things, we had a chance encounter and my life has never been the same ever since.

One of the things that I started using Facebook for was to share my thoughts and try to motivate others to think and see things in a different light. I am one that loves to be mentally stimulated. I always say that I could care less about physical aspects of ones being because the physical can go away but the spirit lives on forever.

So 90% of my posts turned into motivational quotes, the other 10% was just mindless banter and buffoonery with some of my Facebook friends. But then I started to see a shift, I noticed that people responded more to the buffoonery and less to the things of substance. Now, I’m not knocking how anybody chooses to use Facebook, but for me it wasn’t as enjoyable anymore.

Then there were people that thought they knew better than everybody else, thought they knew who I was; they kind of stepped over boundaries or thought that just because we were cool back in the day and we’re friends on Facebook that that meant they were entitled access to certain areas of my personal life—ergo the next reason…

Reason #3 – Didn’t See the Purpose of Friending People Who I Really Wasn’t Friendly With…

Sounds kind of f****d up doesn’t it? But honestly, out of the 400 – 500 people that were on my friends list, I could honestly say that there were only about 10 or 15 people that I carried on conversations with outside of Facebook.

Of that number, only about five I considered friends but come to find out they weren’t much of friends at all. That’s really the f****d up part about it. I’m sitting back thinking that people had a genuine interest in things that are going on in my life but really they fell into the next reason…

Reason #2 – People Are Just Plain F*****g Nosy…

When I first began blogging, I posted about Gossip Folk; people that loved to talk about the dealings of other people’s lives. It’s funny though, because some of those same people that talked about other folk behind their backs would get offended when they find out that somebody was talking about them behind their back.

Or they would post every single dramatic detail of their lives on Facebook and when you go to comment on it they say things like “mind your business, ain’t nobody ask you anything”. Well excuse the hell out of me. I thought Facebook was a public forum. Once a person makes a public statement then I have a right to voice my opinion about it. In fact, since I am a veteran of the armed forces, I volunteered to defend those very rights.

With that said, if you don’t want people to know your business, then don’t post it. If you don’t want people to know what friends you are talking to on Facebook then take the time to figure out how to block certain people from seeing certain posts, which is kind of dumb because if you don’t want people to know certain things why add them as a friend to begin with?

And finally, the number one reason why I deleted my personal Facebook account…

Reason #1 – I Love My Life Just The Way It Is…


Ever since I stopped posting on Facebook, I started to get more things done. I was able to put things into a better perspective. I now know what is most important in my life. It’s not how many “friends” that I have or what types of relationships I had with them. It’s about what makes me happy at the end of the day. It’s about growing up and experiencing different things in life. It’s about being honest with yourself and knowing when to let certain things go.

What’s important to me may not be so important to you. My view of the world may not necessarily jive with your own world view. But that’s alright because that’s what makes us individuals; free-thinking beings that have been blessed with free-will. We can do what we want, say what we want, and be who we want. In my opinion, as long as you’re not hurting anybody else in the world, hey, go for broke. What you think isn’t going to sway me one bit, what you eat doesn’t make me s**t.

I also learned who I can really trust and who I can really depend on in this life, the list ain’t very long but one person that who was never really at the top of it was ME. I learned so much more about myself after deleting Facebook. I feel like my writing has improved ten-fold since my very first post. There is still room for improvement but I think I’m on the right path and that I have the right team behind me.

I’d rather have one friend who gives a damn about me than to have 1000 people who claim to care but really don’t. Understand that we all have our own lives to live and we all have our own paths to cross. Not every relationship is meant to last, no matter how strong the bond once was. Things change, and as things change you have to be willing to adjust to the times or be left to the wayside. Even if you do wind up on the side, maybe that’s the path you’re supposed to be on for your life. I’m just saying…

I’ll still luv ya tomorrow…

10 comments

  1. roughseasinthemed

    Just having a browse through here, and thought I would comment on this one as I deleted FB last year (but not yet a year ago, or maybe it is! – who knows). I liked having interesting discussions but I realised people didn’t like disagreement because every time there was a contentious subject, the friend list changed. I think there were some nice genuine people on there (I was only ever around 130 something), but like you, I also realised I was wasting time. I would rather waste time blogging. But the FB privacy issue was another reason for chucking it too.

    I am surprised that people are so addicted to it. I did try Google+ and Diapora, but no, everyone just loooooved FB. Some of us move on, some don’t.

    • jimcolv

      Yeah, people kill me with their BS and exploits. I’m at the point where I honestly don’t give a damn about quite a few things and people. Time to really refocus and take care of the most important aspects of my life.

  2. alienredqueen

    Totally get you here… #5 especially, in that my blog is my new “obsession.” But I am also a writer, so blogging allows me the freedom and immediate gratification of getting my work out there (albeit a smaller audience than I’d like.)
    The narcissism and superficiality of FB does annoy me, but I keep it, along with some of my “friends.” “frenemies,” and people I don’t talk to a lot. Just because Facebook affords me the ability to keep in touch (even if it’s just a “hi” here and there) with people I would have lost touch with, and reconnect with some really cool ppl from my past. And now that I live away from my home state, I can talk to my friends from there more frequently as well.

    • jimcolv

      My blog is more like therapy for me. While I wouldn’t mind having a larger audience, I find that the readers that come by and subscribe are genuine, so much I can say about a lot of the people I left behind on Facebook. I just couldn’t take the phoniness of some of those people. I also realized that, while we were childhood friends (really more like childhood acquaintances) as adults, we really didn’t have much in common. But nonetheless, I wish all of those individuals nothing but the best in life.

  3. jennifer rodriguez

    well said jimmy i love reading everything you write always strong true inspiring words keep them coming i will always be reading

    • jimcolv

      Thanks for your continued support Jennifer. It means a lot to me and motivates me to continue to do what I do. If I only inspire one other person in this world, I feel like I’ve accomplished something.

  4. Manny

    Well said homie, it’s been a minute but I see I got some catching up to do with your blog..keep the writing going brother, you already know you gotta ear over here, that book should be coming soon!!

    • jimcolv

      Thanks for the encouraging words. A book is definitely on my list of things to accomplish in life. Once I do publish it, you’ll definitely be among the first to know.

  5. thepowerinmoreDe

    Jimmy,

    I would normally reflect on thoughts and actions as part of my Sunday edification–evaluating my individual-and-collective growth for the week. Today was no exception. However, after I click on Simply Jimmy, and read the contents of inspiring growth, I became reassured that “candor” is my edifying word for Sunday, March 17th, 2012. Inspired by Simply Jimmy.

    De!

    • jimcolv

      I’ve come to the realization that the only feasible way to get along in this life is to just be honest, no more how frank or hurtful it may be. Thank you for your continued readership.

What Do You Think?

