What A Difference….


I don’t pretend to know what love is for everyone, but I can tell you what it is for me; love is knowing all about someone, and still wanting to be with them more than any other person, love is trusting them enough to tell them everything about yourself, including the things you might be ashamed of, love is feeling comfortable and safe with someone, but still getting weak knees when they walk into a room and smile at you. – Anon

It’s amazing how much one’s perspective can change in such a short period of time. After my divorce, the last thing on my mind was getting back into a committed relationship. I was convinced that I had suffered from some sort of commitment phobia. That was until I met the one woman who would inspire me to change all of that.

Our story is one that began with sharing links on Facebook and will end with us sharing a lifetime of memories, as we grow old and gray together. It hasn’t been a perfect year, it wasn’t even the perfect circumstances but perfection is not something that is easily attainable (or realistic for that matter).

I found that in order for a relationship to be successful it takes work, patience, commitment, understanding and above all, you have to take risks, no matter how scary they may seem. You should also continue to do the things that made you successful to begin with. One should not get too complacent or comfortable because you put yourself in a position where things may get stale and that can cause issues.

What I have in this relationship is something that I have never experienced before. I have a team player, a right hand, cheerleader, supporter, enforcer, partner, lover and dear friend. At times I believe she loves me more than I love myself, but you need that in a mate. We’re not always going to be at our best, we’re not always going to feel up to task but when we have someone by our side giving us that push, that extra little motivation, it helps things move along.

That’s what the type of woman that I have in my life and I’m not ashamed to share how I feel about her to the world. Call me a hopeless romantic, a sucker for love even, I don’t care. As long as the sun rises and sets, as long as I have oxygen in my lungs I will continue to cherish and worship the very ground she walks on.

4 comments

  1. wallancee

    Absolutely beautiful! I think I am so incredibly lucky because from where I stand, I believe my partner feels about me the way you feel about your wife and I know absolutely it’s the same way I feel about him! Some things are worth the risk and despite your recent divorce, I’m so glad you took that chance at love again, I know it would have been terrifying!

    • jimcolv

      I am very happy that I took that chance too. Honestly it was a no-brainer. She is the most wonderful woman in this world to me. She helped renew my spirit and belief in true love. Not everyday we get that chance.

  2. Candy S

    That is fantastic! It is nice to know that people are still willing to work at their relationships and love will pervail! You both are truly blessed to have one another.

    • jimcolv

      I try to find a way to improve the relationship that I have with my wife every single day. I am very fortunate to have such a remarkable woman in my life. Thanks for sharing…

What Do You Think?

