Why I Blog


Be yourself. Above all, let who you are, what you are, what you believe, shine through every sentence you write, every piece you finish. – John Jakes

I’ve reached a pretty impressive milestone today. This is my 50th blog post on WordPress!!! What does it all mean? Not much to a lot of people, but it is something that’s rather special to me. It represents a dynamic shift in how I have been living. There have been a few things in my life that I have started but have failed to finish or follow-up on. This blog is one of the few things that I have remain committed to over the past couple of years.

When I used to blog on MySpace (damn I wish I still had some of those) and write notes on Facebook, I did it, not for the attention, but because I genuinely enjoy doing it. I love words, I love the freedom to speak freely. Everybody has a story to tell, opinions on different matters, perspective on situations. This just happens to be the medium I have chosen to express myself.

So why do I blog? I blog because I want to, I blog because I love it. This is my outlet; these are my thoughts. It’s not just incoherent ramblings about things of little relevance. Some people make music, others dance, there’s people that paint, but I write. That’s my passion, my escape and contribution to the world. I’m not trying to accomplish anything grand, I’m simply sharing how I feel. If others can relate then wonderful. But I don’t plan on stopping anytime soon.

Before I go, I’d like to thank those of you who support the blog and my fellow bloggers who inspire me to continue on. The future is looking brighter for this writer….

I’ll still luv ya tomorrow….

6 comments

  1. paralaxvu

    Sometimes I feel like my blog, blog, blog is mere blah, blah, blah. But at least I’m starting to make myself known to me and in the process meeting some other bloggers I like as well. Like you. Even if you ARE a snot!

    • jimcolv

      Thank you for stopping by. I used to feel like my blog was blah was as well. Initially, my blogs were a way to reach out to others and give a little advice. Along the way I found that I was the one the sorely needed the advice and guidance. So I began writing, not for the benefit of others, but moreso to dig deeper within myself and unlock my own emotions. I believe I have grown a lot these past two and half years. I also found inspiration and motivation from reading other people’s blogs. There is so much we can all gain from each other, even if some of us act all snotty…. 😉

  2. wallancee

    I started blogging as a way to try and accept me. I’ve been through a lot of changes lately and I thought that to start to learn who I really am, and accept, see some of these changes, I should talk about them. Putting things into words, for others to read (who don’t necessarily know me) and reflect on helps me to see what I have accomplished and where I am lacking. There is still so much I want to learn of others and what better way than browsing the blogs on wordpress! Glad I found my way to yours, keep the blogs coming!

What Do You Think?

