Yeah, That’s The Ticket….


There is perhaps no phenomenon which contains so much destructive feeling as ‘moral indignation’, which permits envy or hate to be acted out under the guise of virtue. ~ Erich Fromm

I love my wife. Prior to her and I getting together, I rarely used the term indignant much less knew what the word meant. But no greater word could be used to describe the emotions and feelings that I see a lot of people display in their online rants and rebuttals. I have been known to get a little indignant when expressing my own views and opinions. My attitude can sometimes be a bit self-righteous and narcissistic but I try to be as honest as I can be.

I never claimed to be an authority on what’s good or what’s bad. I merely express my thoughts on the things that I see going on around me. This is my own brand of social commentary. I have that right, just like those who express themselves in an apoplectic manner have that very same right. It does beg the question of when does the rhetoric go too far? Should an individual be held accountable for their vitriolic feelings, even if they didn’t directly say to go out and act a fool?

I’m no devout follower of any organized faith, but there are some very profound ideas that are presented; novel ideas like reaping what you have sown. It’s one thing to get fired up and passionate about an issue but fighting fire with fire only creates more fire; ignorance begets ignorance. For the measure that one uses when reaching a judgment or formulating an opinion on some matter, understand that the same will be measured back to the individual.

We get back whatever we put out into the world. It’s a simple principle that I feel many people fail to understand. This energy that we have can neither be created nor destroyed, it simply changes form and flows from one place to another. I’m going to use this anti-bullying movement for example. While a rather noble cause to take on and undoubtedly something to address but one should be careful on how they frame their support.

I recently commented on the story about the school bus monitor who was bullied by some little kids. Apparently there has been this wave of moral indignation that has swept across the nation. It has gotten to the point where the children, who took the time to view their behavior from another perspective (or got that ass whipped really good) and the parents of those children have been receiving death threats. Really son? So the way to deal with bullying is to institute another form of bullying?

This is one of the reasons why this society is in such a perilous state. We tell people that certain actions are wrong but we go out and commit the same acts that we are condemning. Oh but since we all agree on it or because we can quote a couple of passages from our books of faith to justify our actions that makes it all better.

Yeah, that’s the ticket. I’ll tell everybody that something is bad and that they shouldn’t engage in certain activities but I’ll turn around and do it myself, but I hold a different position than these other people so I’m allowed to act out in this manner. That’s the very nature of hypocrisy and it’s something that pisses me off to no end.

But what do I care? What all do I know? Who the hell am I? Right or wrong, these are just my thoughts. At the end of the day I can only control and be responsible for Jimmy. That’s it. I may never understand why the world functions the way it does. The only thing I strive to understand is how I fit in relation to everything else. That and how you work those three seashells in the movie “Demolition Man”….. *random thought*

I’ll still luv ya tomorrow…..

3 comments

    • jimcolv

      Well at least somebody feels like thinking is not a worthless thing. Politicians in Texas feel that critical thinking skills shouldn’t be taught in school because it may undermine their beliefs and cause them to rebel against their parents. On the flip side it can lead to them making smarter choices in life like what school they can attend, their career path, how to handle finances, deciding on whether or not Coke or Pepsi is better, but hey what do I know….

What Do You Think?

